Board of Trustees


Crossroads Academy is a non-profit organization governed by a Board of Trustees. The current board consists of sixteen trustees and eight emeritus trustees and includes current and alumni parents, professional educators, community members, and friends of the school. All board members are volunteers except for the Head of School, who serves as an ex officio member.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for ensuring the long-term viability of the School and the fulfillment of its mission. The Board works at a high strategic level to ensure Crossroads remains a healthy and vibrant learning environment for current and future students.

Trustees are also responsible for hiring and overseeing the Head of School. The Head of School reports directly to the Board and is its sole employee. The Head, in turn, is charged with enacting the policies of the Board and overseeing the day-to-day operations of the School.  Faculty and staff are hired by and report only to the Head of School.

Except for a Trustee elected to serve as President of the Board, an elected Trustee may serve for a maximum of two consecutive three-year terms, or six years. The Board’s Committee on Trustees selects Board candidates and presents a slate to the full Board for election in the spring.

The full Board meets approximately eight times over the course of the school year.  Board committees meet with greater frequency to fulfill their specific missions.  Committees of the Board of Trustees currently include the Executive, Finance, Development, Buildings & Grounds, Marketing, and Trustees Committees.  In any given year, task forces may be created to address other strategic goals.

The Crossroads Board conducts its operations in accordance with the Principles of Good Practice promulgated by the National Association of Independent Schools. The Board’s operations are also reviewed as part of periodic assessments conducted by the New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC).

Board of Trustees 2017-2018

Dawn Averitt
Jay Benson
Lorna Brittan-Smith
Blake Darcy
Zheng Duan
Sean Gorman
Alice Harrison
David Hoffer
Alyssa Kelley
Ellie Kyung
Laurel Mackin
Angela Orlando
Nina Sand-Loud
Larry Shaper
Posie Taylor
Mary Jo Turk

Ex Officio
Brad Choyt